23 February, 2012
My Documents Web Part Now Has Option to Remove Delete Item
The delete option in the My Documents and My Shared Documents has been causing some users some problems. Because it is accessing the home directories over the network, when a user deletes a file, it is gone. It does NOT go into either their Recycle Bin or SharePoint’s recycle bin.
To counter this there is now an option to show the delete option or not.

When this is enabled the delete option is present for files and directories.

When it is disabled the option is not there.

Note that the Show Delete option is only valid if Is Writeable is enabled as well.
By default the Show Delete option is disabled, and so is safe for users by default.